My Top 10 Beauty Products- Highly Recommended Reviews :)

29 Apr

There are some beauty products that I absolutely LOVE and recommend to all my friends. I have also gotten great feedback about these products and hope some of them will work for you. These are my beauty must haves/staples:

1. Urban Decay Primer Potion-


This is the ONLY make up product that I consider irreplaceable, thus making the top of my list; all others can be substituted. If you wear eyeshadow, this primer potion will keep your shadow from creasing, smudging, or fading ALL DAY. Most of us have oily eyelids, which is why eyeshadow color will slide off after a while. This base will keep it in place!
To Use- Use the wand to dab it on and rub the product in with your finger until it disappears.
The only con about this primer is that the shape of the container makes it difficult to use all of the product. Many ppl break it and are able to scrape a good amount of product out. I hate that they cheat us like that but when you make a great product…you can pretty much do what you want.

Find It: Ulta & Sephora (I think it’s around $15…bad memory)

2. “Out the Door” Nailpolish Topcoat-


Without this, you will be stuck in the age of waiting over an hour for your nailpolish to dry. Those days are no more! Not only does this clear topcoat give great shine, it dries your nailpolish within minutes (15 max). Another topcoat called “Seche Vite” is a popular fast-drying topcoat but “Out the Door” is half the price and it’s performance is comparable to Seche Vite, which is why I prefer it.

Find It: Target ($5)

3. “Soap & Glory: Scrub Your Nose In It” face scrub-


I personally think Soap & Glory makes the BEST scrubs. (I also love their vintage packaging and clever mottos like “A woman’s friends may be flaky but her legs never should” Lol!) The “Scrub Your Nose In It” scrub left my face super smooth within the first use. It does a great job of exfoliating and leaves your face feeling fresh!

Find It: Select Target stores (in the organic/natural beauty products aisle; It’s about $10)

4. “Soap & Glory: Flake Away” body scrub-


Unlike other body scrubs, I love how this one is thicker, making it less messy to use. Your legs will be SUPER soft and the smell is delicious!
Only con about this product, as well as all sugar scrubs, it leaves the tub slippery/greasy since it contains essential oils. Don’t slip!

Find It: Select Target Stores (in the organic/natural beauty products aisle; It’s about $12)

5. Maybeline Eyebrow Pencil-


It’s great for filling in the gaps in your eyebrows and makes them appear more even. It also helps you stretch out the time between waxing/threading by maintaining your eyebrow shape.
I normally get it in dark brown. Black appears too harsh on my complexion.

Find It: Walmart, Target, CVS ($5)

6. Ulta Eyeliner (automatic pencil)-


This eyeliner stays put! It doesn’t smudge, is waterproof, and goes on pretty dark. It’s a great discount buy if you don’t want to spend cash on more expensive brands like MAC or Urban Decay, who also make good eyeliners. Bonus: it’s an automatic pencil so no need for a sharpener or scratching your eye with a dull point when you can’t remember what you did with that sharpener!

Find It: Ulta ($6)

7. Jergens All Purpose Face Cream-


I use this product to remove my eye makeup. Even the darkest shadows slide off easily with one swipe of a tissue! This cold cream has been around for YEARS; it was in stores when your grandmother was a teenager.

Find It: Walmart, Walgreens ($4)

8. Johnson & Johnson Bably Oil Gel-


I like mixing this with my lotion to give my legs great shine. It locks in moisture very well so use it on your dry spots.

Find It: Walmart, Target, all pharmacies & supermarkets ($3)

9. Corioliss Flat Iron-


What would I do without it? I’ve had it for 3 years and it still works as well as the first time. This flat iron is SUPER hot so there is no need to put it at the max temperature (btw, it’s European so the temp in in Celsius degrees).
I must admit, this is a little pricey. I think it’s listed at more than $100 but it’s def a good investment and comes with a warranty.

Find It: I bought mine at a kiosk in Lenox Mall (and was thankfully able to negotiate the price) but you can order one online. Do a google search to compare prices.

10. Strap Perfect-


This isn’t exactly a beauty product but I LOVE it! This little piece of plastic rearranges your bra straps so that they do not show in certain tops. It basically brings them to a “racerback” shape. You can wear tank tops in the summer without your bra straps sticking out. You get the support you need while looking polished. Perfect!

Find It: Walmart ($8)

Note: Prices listed are not exact. Please forgive my bad memory (internet searches also bring up different numbers) but the actual prices of these products fall whithin a close range of my estimations

4 Responses to “My Top 10 Beauty Products- Highly Recommended Reviews :)”

  1. Tatiana Noel April 29, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Your favorite primer totally looks like a sex toy. I still plan on buying it, but like I said…won’t be doing that until my little free Clinique is finished. It’s lasting forever, and actually works REALLY well. If I had my purse I’d tell you the name but I don’t. It’s clinique, comes in a little mini compact, and I got it for free while I was at their kiosk trying eyeliners. Best. Deal. Ever.

    • vlouis85 April 29, 2010 at 4:15 am #

      I did it! I learned how to reply! Lol. Don’t know too many ppl who use Clinique primers but good to know it works well!

  2. Dawnavette May 25, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    CUTE post!! I use half the products on the list and am sure to try the other half. Keep testing and us ressionistas lookin fierce w. These tips! Thanks!

    • vlouis85 May 26, 2010 at 4:41 am #

      Thanks! 🙂 I surely will keep testing and writing about it all.

Leave a Reply

